<strong>Annual atom tourney bigger and better</strong>

Three divisional winners declared

Kathy Gosse kgosse@thepacket.ca
Published on February 16, 2012
Clarenville Caribous ‘A’ team goaltender Lucas Efford stretches to cover the puck during action in the Division ‘A’ atom championship game against Gander in 2012.
Kathy Gosse photo

It's like winning the Stanley Cup.

That's the way coach Greg Adams described how some players felt following a divisional win at the 39th Clarenville Atom Invitational tournament. The three-day competition wrapped up Sunday afternoon at the Clarenville Events Centre.

The annual tournament was one of the largest in history with a record 12 teams participating, including three Clarenville entries.

This year's tournament also saw another division added, bringing the number of championship trophies awarded to three.



Division ‘A' results

The ‘A' division final featured the host Caribous and the Gander Flyers ‘A' teams.

Taran Leonard got the Caribous on the board midway through the opening period. The goal held up until the third period when Flyers forward Evan Bennett fired the puck into the Caribous' net. With less than three minutes left in regulation play, Flyers winger Alex Stairs let go a wrist shot that found its way over the goal crease. The goal proved to be the winner as the visiting Flyers held on for a 2-1 win.

The Marystown Mariners earned the bronze medal in the division. They edged the Conception Bay North CeeBees 2-1. Jared Cluett and Liam Best scored for the Mariners. Josh Combden replied for the CeeBees.


Division ‘B' results

The ‘B' division championship was a high scoring affair as the Gander Flyers ‘B' squad downed the host Clarenville Caribous ‘B' team 6-1.

Andrew Hunt paced the winners with a pair of goals. Ty Matthews, Will Parsons, Joseph Mitchell and Peter Kelly added singles.

Ryan Snelgrove scored the lone goal for the Caribous.

Conception Bay North claimed the bronze in the ‘B' division with a 3-1 win over Marystown. Paul Tizzard led the CeeBees offence with a pair of goals. Derick Dove added the other CeeBees marker.

Jonnah Hanrahan replied for Marystown


Division ‘C' results

Glovertown clinched the ‘C' division title with a 5-2 win over the Gander Flyers. Travis Warfield paced the Glovertown win with a hat trick while Riley Paul added a pair of goals.

Tyler Blake and Cody Hodder replied for the Flyers.

The host Clarenville Caribous entry picked up a bronze medal in the newly-formed ‘C' division. Tyler Patey scored in overtime to lift the Clarenville Atom ‘C' team to a 3-2 win over Conception Bay North CeeBees.

It was Patey's second goal of the game. Tanner Sceviour scored the other Caribous goal.

Matthew King scored both CeeBees goals.


Sportsmanship remains the main focus

While championship trophies awards are presented to each divisional winner this year three sportsmanship awards were also handed out.

Going back almost as long as the tournament itself, the Cpl. Gary Greening Memorial Award and the Norm Baggs Memorial Award have been part of the event.

The Cpl. Gary Greening Memorial Award was first presented at the 1983 tournament. This year it went to the Conception Bay North CeeBees ‘A' team.

The Norm Baggs Memorial Award was first presented at the 1982 tournament. This year the award went to the host Clarenville Caribous ‘B' team.

For the first time a new sportsmanship award was presented in the ‘C' division and went to the Conception Bay North CeeBees ‘C' team.

One of the reasons teams like coming to the tournament is the hospitality players, coaches and parents receive says tournament convenor Ian Mackey. This year's tournament garnered a lot of positive feedback.

"We had nothing but positive comments on the entire weekend," says Mackey. "I got an email from one of the CeeBees coaches saying they felt it was a first class event and everyone really enjoyed the weekend.

"When you get comments on how good the tournament is, the time and effort put into hosting makes it all worthwhile," he says. "A lot of praise has to go to the parents, coaches and volunteers that helped out over the three days to make it a successful weekend."