Flying Blades hand out annual awards

Published on April 18, 2017

Danica Dean, Elizabeth Swan Cup winner.

©Submitted photo

The Flying Blades handed out their annual awards last Wednesday at a ceremony in the Eastlink Events Centre Theatre.

Danica Dean was the Elizabeth Swan Award winner this year.

The Elizabeth Swan Cup is presented in memory of the late Elizabeth Swan who was the first President of the Flying Blades Skating Club

It is awarded to a member who demonstrates hard work, dependability, consideration, and cooperation. They must have leadership skills, positive attitude, dedication, a helping nature, reliability and punctuality. Winners display spirit and passion for the sport of skating, achieve balance within skating and in other areas of life and give back by assisting club level skaters. Finally, winners embrace the “joy of skating.”

The other awards included:

• Jada Harnum - Spirit of Skating Award;

• April Hannah - John Windsor Volunteer of the year Award;

• Brooke Cooper - Ruth Bailey Rising Star Award;

• Gracie Glass - Program Assistant Of the Year Award.


• Emily Baker - Junior StarSkater of the Year;

• Mark Butt - Senior StarSkater of the Year;

• Blayre Hannah - Intermediate StarSkater of the Year.

And front:

• Naomi Lane - Advanced CanSkater of the Year;

• Jenny Pitts - CanSkater of the Year.